City Desk

Five Schools Spared in DCPS School Closing List

Big congrats to the parents and students at Garrison Elementary, Malcolm X Elementary, Johnson Middle School, Smothers Elementary School, and Francis-Stevens Educational Campus: your schools are safe. But while those five schools made it off DCPS Chancellor Kaya Henderson's school closure list today, the following thirteen schools, set to close at the end of this school year, didn't:

  • MacFarland MS
  • Marshall ES
  • CHOICE at Hamilton
  • Spingarn SHS
  • Spingarn STAY
  • Shaw MS @ Garnet-Patterson
  • Prospect LC
  • Davis ES
  • Kenilworth ES
  • Winston EC
  • Ron Brown
  • Ferebee-Hope ES
  • MC Terrell-McGogney ES

Two other schools, Mamie D. Lee and Sharpe Health, will close at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. Ward 5 was hardest hit, losing five schools, while Ward 7 lost four. The Post has more on the logic behind which schools are closing and which survived.

Photo by Darrow Montgomery

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
  • angel chisholm

    Thats messed up there is no middle schools as is in ward 4 now u close the only school instead of fixing the school and restaffing with good teachers